• Share this article:

Eclipse Cloud DevTools Contributor Award: Steering Committee Chair

Thursday, September 22, 2022 - 13:41 by John Kellerman

The Eclipse Cloud Developer Tools contributor award for August goes to Tim deBoer at RedHat for his work as a chair of the steering committee of the Eclipse Cloud DevTools Working Group. Congratulations and thanks for your contributions!

The Eclipse Cloud DevTools Working Group provides a vendor-neutral ecosystem of open-source projects focused on defining, implementing and promoting best-in-class web and cloud-based development tools. It is hosted at the Eclipse Foundation, current members of the group include Ericsson, IBM, Obeo, RedHat, SAP, AMD, Arm, EclipseSource, Renesas, STMicroelectronics and TypeFox.

Tim deBoer has been the chair of the steering committee for over two years now. In his role, he has shown incomparable passion and a steady hand in driving the ecosystem and creating fruitful initiatives. Under his leadership, the Eclipse CloudDev Working Group implemented a number of initiatives, including the OpenVSX Registry, the Special Interest Group for Embedded Development, TheiaCon, Cloud IDE Days and Cloud Tool Time. His dedication to the working group continued though a move from IBM to Red Hat as he helped work though the details of IBM's acquisition of Red Hat.

The group hosts 12 open source projects with over 800 contributors, 19 member organizations and almost 70,000 commits. Many people have contributed to this success and continue to. However, it takes leaders like TIm, often behind the scenes, to enable this success. We continue to be thankful for your contributions and your dedication. Congratulations!

This Eclipse Cloud DevTools contributor award is sponsored by EclipseSource, providing consulting and implementation services for web-based tools, Eclipse GLSPEclipse Theia, and VS Code.