• Share this article:

Eclipse Cloud DevTools Contributor Award: Matthew Khouzam for Strategic Contributions to the Cloud DevTools Ecosystem

Wednesday, February 15, 2023 - 13:42 by John Kellerman

The Eclipse Cloud DevTools contributor award for this month goes to Matthew Khouzam at Ericsson for his significant and strategic contributions in the Eclipse Cloud DevTools Ecosystem.

Most people who get in touch with the Eclipse Cloud DevTools ecosystem have likely interacted with Matthew in one way or another. It might be watching one of his conference talks, interacting with him on one of the projects he is involved in or meeting him in a strategic or technical meeting. As lead of CDT Cloud, TraceCompass incubator, product owner of TraceCompass and Theia at Ericsson, or member of the working group steering committee, Matthew played and continues to play a truly central role in the ecosystem. He brings the Cloud DevTools community to the Open and Highly Available Distributed Systems Research Laboratory (DORSAL) work, located in the Department of Computer Engineering and Software Engineering at École Polytechnique de Montréal. Matthew combines very deep technical insights with a strategic view on the ecosystem. He cares about developing long term strategic goals as much as he cares about tracing down specific bugs. And last but not least, his open and always constructive way of communication brings together people and transforms ideas into innovation.

Open source ecosystems are often focused on technology. However, without people such as Matthew, not much would happen here in terms of collaboration and strategic evolution. Congratulations and thank you for your contributions!

The Cloud DevTools Working Group provides a vendor-neutral ecosystem of open-source projects focused on defining, implementing and promoting best-in-class web and cloud-based development tools. It is hosted at the Eclipse Foundation, current members of the group include Ericsson, IBM, Obeo, RedHat, SAP, AMD, Arm, EclipseSource, Renesas, STMicroelectronics and TypeFox.

This Eclipse Cloud DevTools contributor award is sponsored by EclipseSource, providing consulting and implementation services for web-based tools, Eclipse GLSPEclipse Theia, and VS Code.